Author Topic: Treatment on the NHS ?  (Read 2425 times)

Offline scouseade

Hi All,

Newbie here. I have gynaecomastia and have had for 20+ years or so. I've done the old 'covering up' thing for too long, never gone bare chested on holidays etc etc. Now I have 3 young kids who want their Daddy to take 'em swimming, and Daddy ain't too keen.

Finally took the plunge and saw my GP with a view to getting something done and got referred to a consultant at my local hospital. On seeing me he classed me as category 2 gynaecomastia and said that my breasts were not of a sufficient size to warrant surgery (I think they are!). The decision to treat or not appears to differ from hospital to hospital ("Postcode Lotteries") and I guess my local one doesn't want to treat.

My next game plan is to be re-referred to a different plastic surgery unit. But which ? I've spent an hour here looking up the surgeons on the BAAPS website, trying to work out where they operate out of ie. which hospitals have a plastic surgery unit.

I guess what I'm after is does anyone know which UK units have a positive attitude to the treatment of Gynaecomastia, and which are therefore worth getting a referal to ? I'm desperately trying to avoid the private route, but I might have no choice, we'll see.

Thanks all.

Ade

Offline brother_gyne

• Bronze Member
Birmingham is good - I got mine done there on NHS. Very fast too. The Hospital was Heartlands but wasn't a plastic surgery unit just general surgery

Offline Daytona_Dude

• Posting Member
  • NHS Gyne' surgery done 7/9/05
    • My pre op' pictures
I'm scheduled to have surgery on the NHS at the Royal Haslar Hospital in Gosport Hants within the next 6 months, after being referred there by a surgeon through Portsmouth Hospitals.

I think my gyne is quite severe though, and the surgeon had no trouble recommending me for surgery after I detailed the long term psycological problems it has, and continues to cause.