Author Topic: How does one become a pro at gyno surgeries?  (Read 1683 times)

Offline ducky

• Posting Member
and what lead you to choose it as one of the focuses of your practice?

I'm a 2nd year med student, currently interested in General Surgery. I have high interest in appendectomies and gyno surgeries and would love to perform both someday, as well as other procedures.  

Gyno surgeries are best performed by Plastic surgeons of course, but I'm not as interested in going into plastics. I know general surgeons perform gyno surgeries too, but the general consensus is that they stink at it lol.

So...if I were to go into General Surgery, what is the best way to get good at gyno surgery?
Is there a way I could do a gyno surgery fellowship through a plastics residency or something along those lines to get good at it? I have no idea how it all works.

Any info/advice you want to toss my way I will appreciate. :)
Any flame you want to throw at me for suggesting general surgery over plastics, I'll understand  :D

Offline Dr. Elliot Jacobs

• Elliot W. Jacobs, MD, FACS
  • Senior Moderator
    • Gynecomastia Surgery
I have always been interested in gyne because I grew up with it myself!

When I was a general surgery resident many years ago, the best breast surgeon in the hospital did a gyne procedure.  It consisted of a lengthy incision in the infra-mammary fold, and then dissection and removal of all the breast tissue and fat in an attempt to achieve a smooth, flat and symmetric chest.  It was a bloody three hour operation which left very irregular contours, a large scar, required drains and a lengthy healing time.  Basically, it was a bilateral subcutaneous mastectomy on a guy -- similar to what they would have done for a female.  When I left that operating room, I said there should be a better way.