Author Topic: Some questions. I'm a little nervous...  (Read 2376 times)

Offline silver2

I am browsing this forum for now 3 hours but I still have some questions I haven't find the answer yet.

I had my op earlier today, around 10 hours ago, but I still don't really feel any serious pain even if the doctor gave me painkiller. I've read a lot of people saying it was painful, will the pain come later ? Oh, and I have some red marks on my chest where the skin is still really less sensitive.

The doctor never told me when I have to pull off the bandage. And after that, should I replace it ? I have to specify that I just have one little scar in the middle of the chest.

Do I have to put a cold compress on my brest ? Will this help, or the opposite ?

Do you have any advice for sleeping ? I never been able sleep on the back but it seems necessary. Sorry if I ask too many things, I'm a little nervous. Oh and I'm still learning english, sorry for possible mistakes.

Thanks for answers  :)

Offline jameswr

• Posting Member
Hey, I had my op 3 weeks ago. I hope I'm some help.

You're still probably pumped on pain killers from the surgery. The pain will come.

I went to a clinic to have my bandages removed. You'll need to get in touch with your doctor/clinic to find out what their method is.

I didn't put a cold compress on, and I've never heard that so unless your dr told you to I think you should avoid it. The doctor/hospital should have given you all the information you need. It's bad practise from them not to in my opinion.

And sleeping, you'll get used to it. I always slept on my side/chest, never back. The first night I had a sleeping tablet and I found the first week after surgery I was generally quite tired anyway so when you're tired you'll sleep. I doubt you'll roll over in the night because your body will register the pain.

I hope I helped! Good Luck with everything.

Offline silver2

Thanks for sharing jameswr.