Author Topic: I'm getting gyne surgery covered by the Military  (Read 5749 times)

Offline nycookie

I've been browsing this forum for over 2 years and I believe it's finally time.

I talked to my military doctor, he confirmed that I had mild gyne,
I requested if surgery was possible, and he gave me a referral to see a general surgeon.
Now I'm just waiting on my consultation appointment 1.5 weeks from today to talk to my surgeon and hopefully all goes well.

I will be updating and posting pre & post op pics.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2011, 05:45:09 PM by nycookie »

Offline 805spec

• Posting Member
congrats on getting it covered and good luck with everything!

Offline Dpw

• Posting Member
I'm also getting tricare to cover me, my first consultation is on Aug 1st, your lucky you did have to go through months of test like me first

DeeDubStyle619

Is there any way you can request to see a plastic surgeon instead?

Offline nycookie

I'm also getting tricare to cover me, my first consultation is on Aug 1st, your lucky you did have to go through months of test like me first

If you don't mind me asking, what type of tests, lab/hormone level tests? 

Is there any way you can request to see a plastic surgeon instead?

I will e-mail my doctor and find out.

Offline Pooz

• Silver Member
I had my gyn surgery covered by the military. I had a PS do the surgery.

If it's a smaller base, it's likely you'll have a plastic surgeon do it instead of a general surgeon.

GL and keep us updated!

Offline Dpw

• Posting Member
3 blood test, endocrinologist. Mammograph, and follow up appts. I'm having a plastic surgeon do mine at Portsmouth naval hospital.

Offline Dpw

• Posting Member
Next week is my appt, can't wait go wear a small shirt, nycookie, do you think ill have a problem joining after surgery at meps? My wife is currently active, I'm just a spouse

Offline GQguy

• Posting Member