Author Topic: Gyne and Finasteride  (Read 4250 times)

Offline badnews

• Posting Member
Hello all, new to these boards and I have identified that I indeed have gyne.  I believe that the reason for my gyne is the result of finasteride use for hair loss.  The finasteride has worked very well on my hair, very grateful for that, however what it did to my chest...I'm not so pleased with.  
As a newb, I've searched the posts and have come up with no answers yet.  I plan on having the sugery soon.  But, post op am I still able to take finasteride without the chance of my gyne returning?  My logic being if the gland is removed, what can be stimulated to bring back the gyne?
Also what is the difference between glandular tissue and fat tissue?
In my pecs I feel small oblong, bean shaped masses behing my nips, is that glandular?  Any input would be awesome! ;)

Offline nope1

• Gold Member
Keep searching the other threads, there is a lot on this topic.

I got gyne from finasteride as well, already had the surgery.  Basically, yes the gyne can technically come back after surgery.  The surgeon is supposed to take enough of the gland out so that its basically ALL gone, but the problem is, they have to leave a tiny bit so the nipple doesn't die.  So although the chances of gyne coming back aren't great, it completely can happen, but I don't know how common or uncommon that would be.  

I suggest you just switch to rogaine like I did.  It works even better than finasteride and it works even on the front hairline, although they say it doesn't, trust me, it does.  

Glandular tissue is the hard masses behind your nips that you describe, fat tissue is just simply fat, like any fat on your body, its soft.  Gyne from drugs usually is mainly gland and not much fat, although I had a bit of both, but mainly hard gland.

Basically, get the op, take rogaine, because the gyne does have a chance of returning.

Offline badnews

• Posting Member