Author Topic: I have it, saw a surgeon...  (Read 2953 times)

Offline racingcivic2003

Hello all, I am 27 years old, 5-7 and weigh around 180 pounds. I have struggled with this condition since my teens and have finally saved enough money to have it taken care of. I have been going to the gym non stop over the past 4 months and have lost some fat and gained around 15 pounds of muscle in my shoulders, arms and thighs (I did no chest exercises). Once I saw no difference in my gynecomastia I meet with a surgeon here in Columbus, he told me I have level II gynecomastia and he would perform liposuction while I am IV sedated.

I am very close to pulling the trigger and setting up the surgery, my questions are should I be having the gland removed also? What chances do I have of it coming back after he does the lipo? Should I get a second opinion to be safe?

Thanks!

Offline Raider Fan

• Gold Member
I'm not a doctor or surgeon, but I'd say there's a high probability that you will need surgical excision of tissue beneath your breasts, and not just liposuction.  Did the surgeon specifically say he would NOT do excision, only lipo?  If that's the case, then I'd say you need to keep looking for a surgeon who performs a LOT of gyne surgeries each year and is open to doing whatever is necessary to correct your gynecomastia.  These boards are full of men who only had lipo and many of them are not happy at all with the results. 

We have had this discussion many times on these boards and even the surgeons here warn to very leery of a surgeon who ONLY does liposuction, with no excision.  The reason to be wary is because no surgeon knows what they are going to find UNTIL they get into the surgery.  If you happen to NEED excision, but your surgeon does not perform it, are you just going to be out of luck?