Author Topic: Somewhere Near Acceptance  (Read 5262 times)

nigel

In my teens, I started developing man breasts (I wouldn't know the term gynecomastia until my late 20s). As a kid, I was constantly picked on. Part of this had to do with my breasts, but I was also overweight, quiet, shy, lack self confidence, and being gay (although I wasn't out but my peers could tell) As I moved from junior high to high school, a lot of the self confidence issues changed. I became a member of the football team (defensive lineman), became an honor student, and somehow became one of the mid-level popular kids (still not sure how that happened). I still had the breasts but had found a way to cover them up with clever clothing choices.

In college, I came out and dated. I also lost weight. At my heaviest, I weighed 320 pounds and by the time I finished my master's degree, I was 260 pounds. I moved from the south to NYC where I began work on my PhD. Also, I started going to the gym regularly and built muscle tone as well as dropping more weight. At my lightest, I was 225 pounds.

As a gay man in NYC, I was certain that I would be out of the dating market but not so. I had no problem getting dates, and most men generally liked the breasts. I remember one guy who was super muscular and should have been on the cover of a fitness magazine who loved them. He couldn't believe they were mine, and he couldn't stay away from them. My experience was so positive that it increased my confidence. Eventually, I met a guy who would be my partner. We enjoyed each other company but I was still apprehensive when I took my shirt off for the first time in his presence. He was fine, and we are still together nearly 13 years later. And while I have a wonderful supportive partner and family, great career and terrific friends, I am still somewhat bother by my gynecomastia.