Author Topic: Gyne or not? Anxious for replies!  (Read 2197 times)

Offline curious18yearold

Hey, so here's my condition.

I'm 18 years old, 5'8, and 145 pounds. I was suffering from anorexia a couple of years back and before that, let's say I was a chubby kid. But even during my eating disorder, which has gone away, my "flabby chest" never went away. Now I'm wondering if it really is gynecomastia or just flabby skin which I could hopefully get rid of by filling it with muscle if I started training my pecs.

Replies would be amazing, thank you in advance. There are a couple of photos

Offline Dr. Elliot Jacobs

• Elliot W. Jacobs, MD, FACS
  • Senior Moderator
    • Gynecomastia Surgery
Very minimal if at all.  Obviously, only you can decide if it is troublesome.

Dr Jacobs
Dr. Jacobs 
Certified: American Board of Plastic Surgery
Fellow: American College of Surgeons
Practice sub-specialty in Gynecomastia Surgery
4800 North Federal Highway
Boca Raton, Florida 33431
561  367 9101
Email:  dr.j@elliotjacobsmd.com

Offline curious18yearold

Thanks doc! Very relieved. Would it help if I started working on the pecs, or would it just make them "pop out" more?

Offline McGilli

• Silver Member
Hey!

I too went through an eating disorder about between 15-20 years ago because of my chest. I am about the same size as you. I went down to 130 trying to get rid of them but nothing. I'm 40 now. But I have worked out at gyms most of my life. Personally I like to work out.

I'd say for you - don't work out - if your only intention is your chest. The reason is - you might not enjoy it - and you might train lopsided. Like your chest and arms- and neglect other parts of your body.

I have a photo diary in the diary thread, and a longer story with more pictures in the stories thread.

The thing is - your chest doesn't look bad. Have a look at my pictures and compare.