Author Topic: If this is gyno, what caused it?  (Read 2293 times)

Offline ducky

• Posting Member
Hi there. I suspect I have gynecomastia. However,if I do, I don't understand what caused it.

I'm a 2nd year medical student and interested going into endocrinology, so I've been trying to figure it out. Also, I don't want to get the surgery done unless I know what I did to cause it, otherwise I fear I'll develop it again and require a 2nd surgery.

Here are some pictures.

About me:
- Did not have gynecomastia/puffy nipples/anything irregular until about age 24 (well past puberty)

- Have never used anabolic steroids or anything else that would provoke hormone levels to my knowledge.

- Aside from my suspect gyne, I am in perfect health. A few pounds overweight.

-No definite "hard" feeling around my nipple, but when I press into it, I do feel something, like a group of tiny round balls. Is this breast tissue?

- I began to notice puffyness of the nipple very gradually. First at the age of 24, and at around age 26 it was very noticeable to me.

During this time period I was trying to pack on muscle, and taking about 6-7 protein shakes a day.

Also around ages 21-23 I was on low-dose Accutane.

I also put on weight during ages 22-25, I went from about 140lbs to 170lbs. Obviously not all muscle and much of it is fat, however my abs still show and I dont even think I can consider myself overweight, though for my specific frame I do have some extra pounds.

Questions
Has there been any association with gynecomastia and Accutane?

Is it possible a component in protein powder (possibly phytoestrogens?) could have caused gynecomastia?

Is it possible that it is just fat and I'm just being a paranoid med student? lol.

Thanks. :)

Offline Dr. Elliot Jacobs

• Elliot W. Jacobs, MD, FACS
  • Senior Moderator
    • Gynecomastia Surgery
Yes, medical students tend to over-diagnose (I did it myself when in medical school).