Author Topic: Older guy  (Read 3669 times)

Offline aloe

• Bronze Member
Hi,  I'm new to this but definitely not new to the situation.  I am 56 and have had gynecomastia since I was about 12.  Needless to say, there were not a lot of options back then, and I was too embarrassed to talk about it to anyone, anyway.  My dad took me to a doctor, though, because he was worried about me.  The doctor said I was just chubby and put me on amphetamines.  I spent a month chewing ice cubes and lost a lot of weight, and also became anemic.  So much for that idea.  

I have just lived with it.  It hasn't stopped me from having a good relationship with my partner of 24 years.  It has stopped me, however, from feeling comfortable with my body.  (everything that everyone has said about not going shirtless, never wearing t-shirts, hunching over, wearing baggy clothes, pinching my nipples to make them shrink, etc. - I have done and still do it all)  So, to anyone who is young and feels tortured by having large breasts or nipples, I say YES to surgery!  Absolutely!  Go for it!  

As I said, I am still bothered by my chest - mostly it's my nipples which are exactly like half pingpong balls.  Now I have the money to have the surgery, but at this point in my life I question whether it's a good idea or worth it.  At my age I am not concerned with being "hot."  And I'm not in the market for sex.   I would like to feel comfortable with my body before I die, though.   I would like to know what that feels like.   But I am worried about scarring, and I am guessing that the body doesn't heal as well at my age as it would on a young person.  

I would appreciate your thoughts.

Thanks!

Offline crow

• Gold Member
  • All a big help thanks