Author Topic: how much holiday time off work????  (Read 2477 times)

Offline A17DYB

• Posting Member
Hi folks, never posted anything on here before buti just wondered if anyone cud tell me roughly how long do i need to book off work as im a lorry driver that works long hours but more importantly my job is very physically demanding and so im rather concerned about doing more damage post op if i dont allow enough time to recover an also arranging that time off with my employer, many thanks in advance.  :)

Offline jay adams

• Gold Member
I've read some patients on here tell construction workers that after a week they would go back to work.
I would have to say at least two weeks for heavy lifting and endurance type hours of physical stress.
You gotta let that tissue heal. You could easily start driving again after four/five days but flexing your pecs for hours a day could be bad on the fresh healing tissue.

Offline A17DYB

• Posting Member
much appreciated, that can be easily arranged hopefully. i think i became a little concerned when readin some posts about ppl wearin those vests for up to 6 weeks after and going back for all the follow up appointments for dressin changes etc and as for the giant cow balls swingin off you for a while wtf haha The hospital i have in mind is roughly 150miles away so i wud have to really look into it but thanks once again  ;D

Offline jay adams

• Gold Member
Haha. I didn't have those cow balls.lol
You should wear your compression as long as possible if you can.
After three weeks my doc was cool with me wearing a under armour shirt during the day then putting the vest back on when I got home till the morning again.
I bought a second stage compression shirt to wear during the day. Its nice when you're doing strenuous stuff to have that support on your chest. Keeps it nice and compacted. Always ask your doc his opinion.

Offline A17DYB

• Posting Member