Author Topic: Advice please fellas  (Read 2413 times)

Offline stevo_333

• Posting Member
My GP has told me I need surgery, and I was wondering whether it would be best to get it done via the NHS or to take out a loan (im a student so can't afford it without one) and get it done privately.

Obviously I would rather get it free on the NHS, but have heard so many stories of people having to wait over a year to get it done, and not being happy with the results.

So basically two questions...

1) Is there anyone here who has had surgery on the NHS, and were the results ok?

and

2) Is there anyone here on the NHS waiting list or who has had surgery on the NHS and how long were you on a waiting list for?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers

Offline TommyA

• Posting Member
I think it depends on the area you are in. I think what is common is that sometimes you will be referred to a plastic surgeon and when you have the consultation unless you have a really severe case they will do their best to put you off the surgery by exagerrating what the scars will be like or the risks of it being concave and worse than before. And waiting lists can be year long or alot less. I think the best thing is to go and see them but dont be fobbed off by them. If you are a student you could attempt to get it done as a resident of the place you are at college or at your parents house if either consultant you are not happy with. I was going to get it done on the NHS at Uni then pulled out as was not happy with their procedure and how old the surgeon was so went to see the doctor at home and saw a much better one - the result was an improvement but not great (did not take enough away) and am thinking of getting it done again - privately this time as dont want to do this a third time