Author Topic: My before and after with the -insidious- gynaecomastia  (Read 1891 times)

Offline happinessisachoice

Just wanted to say thank you to all of you for sharing your stories, advice & pictures. This website has really elucidated and reaffirmed the REALITY of a condition that is gynaecomastia (British spelling, sorry I'm an Australian trained doctor!!).

One thing I've learned is always seek a second opinion and that MANY doctors (i.e. family doctors/general practitioners/junior doctors) don't recognise gynaecomastia as a condition in the first place due to it's subtlety and that you can't SEE the emotional pain such a condition would cause. I mean how in a 15 minute consultation are you meant to convey the absolute emotional trauma this condition has caused you right?! Of course take away the fact that it may be part of you being globally overweight, being embarrassed to speak about it, part of puberty in some cases and of course the variety of other causes such as steroids and endocrine..

I luckily saw Dr Paul Belt in Brisbane, Australia. Best decision I've made and for other fellow Aussies or those want to get this procedure done abroad - I couldn't recommend a better surgeon and staff (based on the results I've seen [including me!!], clinical knowledge, professionalism and the vibe/environment).

Below is a post I made a few days ago (copy paste):

"Like some of you I almost never post anything online.. I generally 'lurk' too afraid to speak in an open forum (one of the symptoms of gynae, making me bloody afraid of what other people think of me)

I hope my story inspires other sufferers to 'pull the trigger' on getting surgery for gynaecomastia. Please note, know the difference between true gynaecomastia and pseudogynaecomastia (i.e. you're globally fat/have a lot of subcut adipose tissue thus giving the appearance of breasts)