Author Topic: diary starts here!!!  (Read 2019 times)

Offline mwalker74

• Bronze Member
Hi all,
I have decided to post my diary of events on here as this site has been massively significant in me getting to where I am today. I hope it will help people who were in my position a few months ago. I am 34 years old and have suffered from gynecomastia since I was about 14. My first recollection of it was when I was at school and I did cadets. My uniform top I had to wear was quite tight and of course I was very aware of the way I looked. Since then I have always tried to cover up. When I went on holidays I only really used to take my top off when I was lying down, as soon as I got up on went my shirt. As many of you know it's a real pain in the arse condition and one that is not very nice at all!!!

I was a pro skater for 8 years, and although I was very fit I still suffered as my chest never went away. I dont really have puffiness, just alot of fat. I came across this site abut 3 years ago which is when I realised for the first time there were many other people who suffered from exactly the same symptoms as me. Although I know knew there was something that could be done, it is very difficult bringing the subject up to your family. 

A few months ago we were watching a program on plastic surgery and my wife mentioned about her thinking about a boob job..........it is then that I plucked up the courage to tell her!!!! Why I did not tell her before I dont know as although she doesnt quite understand the feeling as she says she doesnt care about my moobs..she is very supportive of it all. Then I really went the whole hog and told my parents............supportive is not the word! They have been amazing, and when I was talking about having a credit card or loan to pay for the op amazingly they offered to pay!!!!! I know how so lucky I am to be in this position but I just want people to know that it really makes a difference (not just financially for me ) to have support.