Author Topic: Garlic? How much does it affect things?  (Read 4112 times)

Offline randomtask

• Posting Member
The confirmation letter I got from Levick says no "substances containing large amounts of garlic" for 2 weeks before op. I am finding it very hard to cut garlic out of my diet completely as I am a university student and some of the tins of stuff i eat or microwave meals or sandwiches etc have garlic listed in the ingredients such as "garlic puree" or "powdered garlic".

I am checking everything I eat for garlic in the ingredients and have stopped eating take aways etc but I feel I will not be able to completely cut out garlic for 2 weeks... is it really something that affects the thinning of the blood a lot? And will it be ok to have small quantities of garlic?

Any advice appreciated.

Offline Grandpa Bambu

• 31 Year Gynecomastia Victim...
You learn something new every day! I did not know that garlic is a blood thinner. Interesting... but why did my PS not tell me this? Hmmm.....

Check out this Page, last six lines of last paragraph.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2005, 08:23:56 PM by Bambu »
Surgery: February 16, 2005. - Toronto, Ontario Canada.
Surgeon: Dr. John Craig Fielding   M.D.   F.R.C.S. (C) (416.766.8890)
Pre-Op/Post-Op Pics

Offline Yorkshireman

• Silver Member
Can anyone add anything on this.....Im finding it avoid garlic, and do not know how much is too much....

Offline AJP

• Silver Member
I completely cut out garlic a good week before the op, and also a week afterwards. However, I did forget to start taking Arnica a week before, so I had a lot of swelling and bruising. I may have been even worse had I not stopped eating garlic. Who knows.

Garlic, Asprin, and many other things thin the blood. It's a precautionary suggestion by the surgeons as some patients may react quite badly to having 'thin blood' at the time of an op. But on the same hand, it probably won't affect some people nearly as badly.