Author Topic: Get A Second Opinion!!!!  (Read 2555 times)

Offline MDGyne81

First, I have to say that this is my first time posting on this board, but I have been reading it for years and it has been a great source of information and the people here seem really supportive, so let me tell my story and give a little advice to those people considering surgery. I developed gynecomastia when I was about 12, which was really a product of being an overweight kid, but once I went through puberty the weight came off but the gynecomastia stayed. The doctor said it would most likely go away on its own but it didn't. So fast forward about 10 years and I decided to get surgery, which is when I found this site. It just so happened that one of the physicians that was highly recommended on this site wasn't that far from me, so I set up a consultation(summer of 2003). When I saw the doctor I was shocked at what I heard. He told me that I would not be a good candidate for surgery because my skin had a "chewing gum consistency" and I would have a problem with loose skin. He also told me that I may need a whole body lift some time down the road and that I only had 30% gynecomastia and 70% loose skin. I was totally floored because I had seen much worse cases of gynecomastia with great surgery results. This physician in particular had dealt with some pretty extreme cases, so I thought my mild case would be pretty simple. I also found this diagnosis odd because I am 6' and I only weigh about 180 lbs., so the whole body lift thing just didn't make sense to me at all. So discouraged I put the surgery on hold for a few years, and then I decided to get a second opinion from a local doctor about a month ago. When I went to him he said that I had a pretty mild case and that it would be no problem getting rid of the gynecomastia with liposuction. I had my surgery yesterday and let me tell you I couldn't be happier (liposuction only, $4,800 total price). It's less than 24 hours after surgery and