Author Topic: Need advice on skin excision / breast lift method before surgery  (Read 2229 times)

Offline Joe_612

Hello!

I'm 32, currently 90Kg, and considering gynecomastia surgery. I've consulted 4 highly experienced surgeons and all recommended liposuction+gland removal and some amount of skin excision; however, their highly different approaches confuse me and make it impossible to decide what to do:

- The 1st suggested large excision, with 2 scar lines coming out each side of the areolas.
- The 2nd and 3rd suggested a donut lift (which often get a bad rep on these boards).
- The 4th suggested a "lollipop" scar on my left breast (the largest one) and a donut lift on the right, saying a donut lift would be impossible on the left.

1) Any expert opinion will be appreciated, I simply cannot decide what to do - I can't tell whether it's severe / light enough to fit any as I'm not a professional. My breasts are quite large (especially the left) and my nipples are either on- or below the breast fold, so a donut lift might leave the nipples too low and skin too loose; on the other hand, the extreme option would leave me with a flat chest but incapable of taking my shirt off. What would you advise? I can really use some perspective.

2) Additionally, if I go with a donut lift and require revision surgery later (not enough skin was removed), will that still be possible?

Thanks in advance.

Offline Dr. Elliot Jacobs

• Elliot W. Jacobs, MD, FACS
  • Senior Moderator
    • Gynecomastia Surgery
I have a philosophy in doing gynecomastia surgery:  get the best possible result with the least possible scars.

IMHO, you would not require ANY skin excision initially.  Just have lipo and excision and be patient for at least six months or more.  You would be absolutely shocked at how much skin tightening can occur spontaneously.