Author Topic: Is this Gyno?  (Read 1198 times)

Offline memegang420

So I have been self conscious about my chest for as long as I can remember. I am a pretty skinny guy (6'0", 155lbs) but don't have much muscle mass so I'm almost kinda skinny fat with some extra chubbiness on my stomach and chest.

I recently started learning about gynecomastia and am trying to diagnose myself as best I can. I try to feel behind the nipple but can't really tell if what I'm feeling is a breast tissue lump or if it's just normal fat tissue.

If it was gynecomastia would it be just one lump? Because the lump that I think I might be able to feel behind the nipple feels very similar to multiple other lumps all around my pec area. I think these lumps are just fat so could that be what I'm feeling behind my nipple?

Offline Dr. Elliot Jacobs

• Elliot W. Jacobs, MD, FACS
  • Senior Moderator
    • Gynecomastia Surgery
This does appear to be mild gyne.  If you want to be absolutely sure, then it should be verified by a surgeon.

Feeling for "fat vs gland"  really doesn't help -- it is the actual excess of tissue (which is usually both fat and gland) which is the culprit.  You appear slender -- no amount of dieting or exercise will serve to improve the situation.  For further explanation, please read my discussion "Is it fat or breast tissue" in Patient Galleries on this site.

Dr Jacobs 
Dr. Jacobs 
Certified: American Board of Plastic Surgery
Fellow: American College of Surgeons
Practice sub-specialty in Gynecomastia Surgery
4800 North Federal Highway
Boca Raton, Florida 33431
561  367 9101
Email:  dr.j@elliotjacobsmd.com

Offline Paa_Paw

• Senior Moderator
Lucky you, the first person to answer is the ultimate authority. 
Grandpa Dan

Offline Dr. Schuster

• Supporting Doctors
    • www.CosmeticSurgeryBaltimore.com