Author Topic: My Reflection...  (Read 1231 times)

Offline PhillyPUFF

• Silver Member
OK, so I'm 23 years old and I've been living with gyne for about 10-11 years. During that time I did everything I needed to do to hide my 'condition' and make sure no one knew anything about it. I pretty much became anti-social - and throughout those years I also developed a lot of addictions. I got heavy into drugs at a very young age. Getting 'high' took me out of my reality, and put me in a place where I didn't think about my gyne. It certainly wasn't a solution to the problem -  It was nothing more than self medication to temporarily 'numb' the pain. I eventually hit rock bottom and I had absolutely no other choice but to turn my life around. I went to college, I graduated at the top of my class, and I now have a well paying job that I really do enjoy.

I just recently 'came out' a few months ago and told my family about my gyne, and let them know how it's been affecting me for all these years. This was a HUGE step for me, and I'll tell you, it really took a lot of pressure off my shoulders. I wasn't thinking about my gyne nearly as much, and overall I was just a happier person. It hasn't been until these last few weeks that I've had my gyne on my mind practically all the time. I attribute this to A: the fact that its gotten warmer outside and its getting harder to wear layers upon layers of clothes, which in turn, makes me ALOT more self conscious in public...and B: My surgery is coming up on July 3rd, and I cant help but to be excited/anxious/nervous/hopefull about it all.