Author Topic: What do you think?  (Read 4880 times)

Offline brent777

• Posting Member
I just set up a consultation with a plastic surgeon today, and the appointment is in exactly one week.  I am 20 years old, 6'3" and 200 lbs.  This surgery is something I have been considering for the past 6 months or so.  I realize I have a relatively minor case, but it is something of which I am ALWAYS self conscious.  I'm sure many of you can relate when I say that the appearance of my nipples is something that is on my mind no matter where I am.  It's difficult to stand upright, and when I am around people I try to angle myself in a way that they have the least chance to notice.  I hate taking my shirt off in public places like a beach, pool, or lake, and I always notice people staring at my chest.  There is a chance my insurance company will cover the procedure, and I am about to write them to see if I can get preapproval.  Does anyone know anything about getting insurance companies to approve this procedure?  And tell me what you guys think, here are the pics:

Offline dasco456

• Posting Member
I say if it bothers you do it.  

Offline Spleen

Forget about getting insurance to cover it.

I had a similar case.  I had surgery about a month ago and so far so good.  Please do your homework and talk to a few docs to get some different opinions about how to procede.  Also, it's gonna take some time to heal up.  I still have some wrinking in my left nipple where more gland was removed, and while it's steadily improving I know it will be months before it disappears.  You'll also have scars; there's no getting around that.  Mine are practically invisible, but I'm a good healer and had a good doc.

Whatever you do don't get surgery for the benefit of others.  If folks notice your nipples they're probably just noticing what you notice.  Don't give it any more weight than what it is: curiosity.  If you choose to have surgery do it for yourself.

Offline tenncast

• Silver Member