Author Topic: Will this go away with age/exercise?  (Read 2589 times)

Offline dedondecre

I'm 15yo, 5'8", 160lbs.

Here is what I look like:

(the middle picture and the far-right picture are from a few weeks ago; the rest are from today)

Essentially, I have two questions:

a.) Is it likely that this will go away with age? I started getting extra chest fat when I was around 12, and it seems like it's been slowly improving over the past year (peaked when I was 13/14, I would guess), although I really have no way to tell.

b.) Is it likely that this will go away with exercise? I have lost about 10lbs running in the past couple of months (and I started lifting weights a few weeks ago), but I'm still overweight and have excess fat around my stomach and hips. Should I wait until I've lost more fat to make a judgment, or is it pretty safe to say now that I have gynecomastia?

There is a larger version at
img204.imageshack (dot) us/img204/5482/gyno.jpg

Offline Dr. Elliot Jacobs

• Elliot W. Jacobs, MD, FACS
  • Senior Moderator
    • Gynecomastia Surgery
You are in great shape and your gyne is very minimal if at all.  Certainly, waiting and observing cannot harm -- and building up your muscles in the process also cannot harm.

However, be prepared to find that, down the road, there may still be a very small amount of residual tissue on your chest.  Then it becomes a choice of living with it or considering surgery.  Most guys would be thrilled to have a chest like yours even now.

Dr Jacobs
Dr. Jacobs 
Certified: American Board of Plastic Surgery
Fellow: American College of Surgeons
Practice sub-specialty in Gynecomastia Surgery
4800 North Federal Highway
Boca Raton, Florida 33431
561  367 9101
Email:  dr.j@elliotjacobsmd.com

Offline dedondecre

You are in great shape and your gyne is very minimal if at all.  Certainly, waiting and observing cannot harm -- and building up your muscles in the process also cannot harm.