Author Topic: my journey  (Read 2904 times)

Offline +jack

Hi All,

I've been considering gynecomastia reduction surgery for many years.  In recent months I've decided to take the plunge, and I've been rigorously researching my options and trying to decide on a surgeon.  After careful consideration I think I've made my choice and I'm going to schedule a consultation soon.  My choice of doctor was influenced by several different factors such as online recommendations, the description of his technique, experience level, and his confidence.

I'm 28 years old and I've suffered from gynecomastia since puberty.  Both my father and brother have the same condition which leads me to believe that it may be genetic.   At 25 I had blood work done in effort to discover if there was an underlying medical condition resulting in the gynecomastia but all my blood work came back normal.  I've tried to pinpoint a medication I may have taken as a possible cause, but I've never taken any medication that may possibly contribute to enlarged breasts.  Besides the gynecomastia I've always been a very healthy and normal adult male.

At 25 I tried to avoid the surgery route by changing my lifestyle and taking better care of myself; however, I've found that no amount of exercise or weight loss helps with the gynecomastia.  I was slightly overweight at the time and I figured the gynecomastia would disappear if I lost weight.  From 25 - 28 I worked out religiously in the gym and ran several 5K races.  I've lost weight and gained a lot of muscle mass.  I now have very low body fat percentage but the gynecomastia is still there.