Author Topic: Armpit Incision Scar fade time..?  (Read 1693 times)

Offline bobby123

Hello Dr's,
I had surgery about 6 months ago and had an armpit incision. The scars are still pretty red (and they are also raised slightly...i'd call it bumpy) and I have been using Biocorneum+ for almost 3 months now. These scars concern me because even though my gynecomastia is healed and I look great with shirts I couldn't wear before, I don't feel comfortable now taking off my shirt because of the scars.

My doctor offered me IPL laser.

I have been exposed to sunlight once in which I didn't put on any sunscreen for about 4-5 hours. However, after that time I have put on sunscreen over the scar every time I went out.

I'm just concerned because Biocorneum+ doesn't seem to have faded it out like some before/after photos of other people using it. Are there any thoughts on what I should do? Should I wait 1-2 more months or maybe even half a year until I get the laser treatment from my Dr. or should I go ASAP? 
Thank you!

Offline Dr. Elliot Jacobs

• Elliot W. Jacobs, MD, FACS
  • Senior Moderator
    • Gynecomastia Surgery
If the scars are raised or thickened, perhaps a small injection of cortisone might be of help -- ask your surgeon about that.   Biocorneum doesn't help the color -- it's only job is to try to make the scar heal flat and flush with the skin -- but it is not infallible.

The color is a different story.  Usually scars fade within 6-12 months, but this may depend on your genetic heritage and your own individual healing properties.  Exposure to the sun can also prolong redness -- that is why sunblock is so important.

Ultimately, the scars should fade -- with time or perhaps with an IPL or other laser treatment.

You say you gyne result is good -- that is the most important fact.  Would not preoccupy oneself about the scar -- it too will get better over time.

Dr Jacobs
Dr. Jacobs 
Certified: American Board of Plastic Surgery
Fellow: American College of Surgeons