Author Topic: Is this normal? 3 days post surgery. Pics.  (Read 5562 times)

Offline Elvito

• Posting Member
This started a few hours after surgery but I thought it would have gone down by now. My right breast is fine, but my left is very swollen. I think it was a little larger a few days ago, but not by much. Mostly I'm concerned with the discoloration and the fact that it's still leaking a very small amount of blood. My right side stopped bleeding after the first day and is for the most part swollen very little.

Is this typical? I have a follow-up with my doctor this Tuesday, and if it's no big deal I can deal with it until then. But if I'm in danger of infection or something I guess I should go to the ER? I really don't want to do that as honestly I can't afford it, but better that than a permanently disfigured chest.

Offline nitrox987

• Bronze Member
I am not a doctor but it looks like an hematoma.
I developed something similar to what you have during the night after surgery and it turned out to be an hematoma.
Mine was much bigger than yours and my surgeon decided to drain it right away.
If possible, try to contact your surgeon and/or send him some pictures, he should be able to tell you whether this is really an hematoma and if there is anything you need to do before you see him on Tuesday.
Just so you know in case it's confirmed, my final result was not affected and both sides look just the same now. Only drawback was that the side with the hematoma was bruised up for about 4 weeks but the contour looked just like the other side after a week or so.
You could also try to post in the "ask a doctor" section and maybe a supporting doctor will be able to give you more information.
Good luck and keep us posted.

Offline Dr. Elliot Jacobs

• Elliot W. Jacobs, MD, FACS
  • Senior Moderator
    • Gynecomastia Surgery
If both sides were equal right after surgery and then your right side got significantly larger, that would indicate a possible hematoma.