Author Topic: Plastic Surgeon Consultation..  (Read 2057 times)

Offline thorne

• Posting Member
I had another consultation today with a NHS consultant. Ive been going through all this for a year now and finally getting somewhere. My trust dosnt cover Lypo, I dont have gland problems, mine consists of fatty tissue. My consultant has referrred me to see a plastic surgeon, but I have to pay £120 to see him as this allows me to skip all the board decisions and blah blah blah and allows me to see the guy who performs the op. I am under the 25 bmi that you have to be to have the op on the nhs and Ive been told that the plastic surgeon Im going to see, Dr Dean Boyce, will then put me on the nhs waiting list, Im a student and cant really offord private, Dean Boyce has done this with other students or healthy people in the past rather than them pay a couple of grand. He seems a nice guy. Im just really worried about the op, Ive watched youtube videos and the op looks painful. Im just wondering if any of you guys who've had lypo can give me info on it. Is it painful, are you awake during it or not? etc.

Thanks guys!

Offline kingboob

They usually do the operation under general anaesthetic, which means you are asleep and can't feel anything.   

After the op your chest will be sore and tender to touch for up to 2 weeks, however this is easily manageable with paracetamol or other over the counter pain killers.......  The pain is not a major factor for most people at all, infact after the first few days it really just feels like you have done a really heavy work out at the gym, everything will be a bit stiff and sore but it isn't terrible...................  Having said that you can expect it to be up to 6 weeks before you will feel totally comfortable going to the gym or lifting heavy objects............. also the swelling can last for quite a long time, meaning the final results may not appear until 6months or more post op.