Author Topic: Some Hematoma Questions  (Read 2424 times)

Offline buffetkid

• Posting Member
Hi.

I have some hematoma questions that i think can help alot of our buddies here are the forum.

Is it correct that hematoma can either be left as is for self healing or it can be drained by your PS? If so, how will one know if he should have it drained or let it be as is?

When hematoma because worse and you have to drain it, is it because of not properly wearing your compression vest? or is it because of your body's healing?

Lastly, how many days post op before you can say that you do not have to drain or no serious hematoma?

Thanks guys, i hope these questions can enlighten our fellow members!

Offline gynetexas

• Posting Member
buffetkid,

I'm no expert but I'm going off my own experience and what my PS told me.  Check out the story here http://www.gynecomastia.org/smf/index.php/topic,11148.0.html.  I believe a hematoma is not like swelling/draining.  When I had surgery on the 23rd I woke up with drains and had to empty them every morning.  There was less and less liquid each time.  A week later I went to the ER because my right side chest was the size of a grapefruit.  I was hoping a simple drain would fix it but I was wrong.  The hematoma occurred because an artery was probably pulled and busted, because it filled up the void with blood FAST.  What I didn't realize is that the PS cauterizes all of the arteries that used to feed the gland or else a hematoma could easily occur right away.  The PS thinks the artery was either trapped in the healing process and later (6 days) ripped apart from movement or the artery was hidden during surgery.  Either way it sucked to have to go into surgery again, but everything is fine now.  My right side is harder than the left underneath the skin and the scars/stitches are a week behind, but it was still worth it.