Author Topic: Gynecomastia + prohormones  (Read 4696 times)

Offline OK123

Trying to get some opinions on gynecomastia after pro hormone use.
A friend took methyl-1-D which is a testosterone booster, less than a few months later he developed bilateral breast tissue enlargement. He has presented to a couple surgeons (one plastics & one cosmetic surgeon) for consultations. He is a very healthy 28 yr old on no medications. The plastic surgeon was willing to set up surgery & did not mention any further testing. He was informed of the pro hormone usage(which lists gynecomastia as an adverse effect). The cosmetic surgeon has recommended an endocrinology consult to rule out pituitary adenoma. I am a physician assistant & believe that this would be looking for a "zebra." what do you think & do you routinely recommend endo consultations? Also there are no other symptoms (headaches, blurred vision, etc). Thank you for your time.

Offline Dr. Elliot Jacobs

• Elliot W. Jacobs, MD, FACS
  • Senior Moderator
    • Gynecomastia Surgery
Common sense would seem to indicate a causal relationship between the pro-hormones and the onset of gyne.  I have seen many patients with a similar scenario.  On the other hand, the other doc is simply being extremely thorough -- but if he were to suspect a pituitary adenoma, he should also work up the patient for multiple other potential causes for gyne.  He is just "covering his a$$."

In general, I do not feel the extra expense is necessary if there seems to be such a blatent cause and effect story.

Dr Jacobs
Dr. Jacobs 
Certified: American Board of Plastic Surgery
Fellow: American College of Surgeons
Practice sub-specialty in Gynecomastia Surgery
4800 North Federal Highway
Boca Raton, Florida 33431
561  367 9101
Email:  dr.j@elliotjacobsmd.com

Offline OK123

That was my thought. He doesn't have health insurance & it would be a costly workup. Any further symptoms & I will personally take him to
Thank you for the input!

Offline Litlriki