Author Topic: Surgery recovery - Molecular biology understanding  (Read 1748 times)

Offline IN2DEEP

• Posting Member
I would like to know how it actually works inside our body when a good quantity of mass is removed. I'm a grad student in molecular and cellular biology and Id like to know more about it. The same questions comes back periodically and we always talk about the visual aspect and the surgery procedures/cost. Lets go a little bit further.

Unlike the central nervous system, the peripheral one can regenerate so does the whole procedure actually increase or decrease the overall sensitivity? How does it ''find'' his way back into the skin after a huge amount of excision?

How does the blood vessel keep acheving oxygen to the skin/areola after the gap is formed? Have you ever seen any tissue/areola necrosis after surgery?

Following the same logic, does the ''blue color'' comes from a lack of oxygen of the skin?

What cause the skin to get a yellowish color?

I beleive this gland in a men body doesnt have any endocrine/exocrine activity but if I'm actually wrong, does the removal affect our metabolism and how?

I was looking at different article in pubmed but cases are way too specific and rarely only oriented on the gynecomastia. Do you have any free articles database specific to plastic and cosmetic surgeon?

Thanks again for your time.

Offline Litlriki

• Supporting Doctors
    • Dr. Silverman's Website
I will answer a few of the questions you've posed, but for the deeper molecular and physiologic aspects of wound healing, I will refer you back to your professors and textbooks.