Author Topic: op before travels???  (Read 1540 times)

Offline peek-a-boob

hey, i have been considering surgery for the last 3 years now and would like to have the surgery done before i go backpacking for 3 months across south east asia and china starting the end of june. Being in the hot and humid climates it is going to make my gyno as prominent as it can be, although some may consdier it not that bad. however, like any other sufferer it is still something i am very aware of and would like to have it done before hand. so i ask, considering the possible recovery time, and the physical strain of backpacking do you think it is unrealistic to have it done before hand???

there is no doubt that i am going to have it done but if there is a large risk that it may screw up my travles then i will have to wait.

any help appreciated.

Offline gynebegone2

• Bronze Member
The sooner the better.  I would talk to your Doctor, but as far as I'm concerned I could handle a pack now at about week 2, but I'm sure it would aggravate the swelling a little.  I would shoot for at least 2 months beforehand though since you do have the time.  At two months you should be looking great and any complications that would have occurred would have manifest themselves by then.

Offline scousered45

• Posting Member
Agree with GBD2, in six days post op and can go on long walks. You would want to wait a month before going on a pack trip incase anything goes wrong.

The sooner the better.  I would talk to your Doctor, but as far as I'm concerned I could handle a pack now at about week 2, but I'm sure it would aggravate the swelling a little.  I would shoot for at least 2 months beforehand though since you do have the time.  At two months you should be looking great and any complications that would have occurred would have manifest themselves by then.