Author Topic: I need advice  (Read 3196 times)

Offline Worrier

• Gold Member
Hi
I have been following these boards for some time and I have decided I need to talk to people with similar problems.This might be quite a long post but I will try to keep it as concise as possible.
Iam from the UK and gyne came to me when I was 24 years old, Iam now 25. I got it at that age because of a drug called quetiapine, an antipsychotic.This is where things get complicated as when I was 21 I became mentally ill where I thought there was something wrong with my appearance (there wasn't). I saw a psychiatrist who perscribed me itas I was getting paranoid that girls were laughing at me due to my appearance.
           Anyway it worked to a degree and although I could not get back to work as I used to be a Police Officer ,I at least was functioning.Then  I noticed a pain above my ribs in one side of my chest , not in the nipple, just around the breast bone and one side of my chest was enlarged more than the other side. I went to see my GP  who referred me to an endo, had all the tests and they came back normal. After reading what 'hypo 'said I repeatedly went back for second opinions saying the doctos were wrong as they had not tested for this or that. Anyway I had about 10 blood tests before I was banned from seeing the endo!
It was confirmed I had gyne ,mainly fat as Iam also hugely overweight. I was referred then to a breast surgeon who said it was not cancer who then referred me to a plastic surgeon.
This is on the NHS (free health care). Anyway she is according to the doctors hugely experienced.  She said again it was mainly in one side with a bit of excessive breast tissue but mostly fat.She said that liposuction would be best to start with as it is mailnly fat and is less invasive than the other option. She also said that as it was cosmetic and not mainly gland it would be difficult for the NHS to fund it. I saw her in January this year.