Author Topic: Performing Self-Liposuction?  (Read 19865 times)

mikeyfive0

Okay, Ive had it...My insurance company turned down my third request for surgery so I have decided to become a do-it-yourself guy. Does anyone know of any sites that give detailed instructions for performing self-liposuction? I'm not a doctor but I feel really confident that I could perform this procedure flawlessly. I'm very good with my hands, and work well with all sorts of tools. All I need is the basic information. Also I'm a bit concerned about passing out at the first sight of blood, does anyone have any advice that might help in that department. I really hope that I'm able to stay awake after I start the anasthesia. Do ya think Pacificare will pay for my emergency room visit when my surgery takes a turn for the worse? I hate insurance companies almost as much as I hate Gynecomastia. Peace >:(

Offline headheldhigh01

• destined to stand on a beach shirtless
i sympathize, but we're talking baaaaad idea here.  far better to get a second job, finagle a credit card, or lay off beer for a year or two.  here's past comment by me on the subject (the guy was planning excision, but same basic issues, you can't just hook up your shop vac):  

first off, you'd want an x-acto knife instead of a razor blade.  second, it's not going to be a nice, neat, yank on something and it detaches, it's going to be a tearing, fleshy mess.  third, you're going to bleed like crazy because you don't have what it takes to arrest that.  fourth, you have a hugely inferior viewing perspective compared to a surgeon.  fifth, you'd have no anaesthesia:  thinking you can do weird angle fine surgery like that is like believing you can assemble a plastic model with a dog chewing on your leg.  sixth, you'd leave unreconstructed craters.  seventh, a lousy stitching job is going to leave scars of the scale that with the cratering might be worse than the gyne.