Author Topic: compression garment?  (Read 4239 times)

Offline am

• Posting Member
hi,

maybe its a stupid question :-) but i thought that i will still ask!

how important is it to wear compression garment after the surgery? and for how long should you wear it? i read about it a lot on the internet but when i asked my doctor about it, he said that its not required...he said that the skin will automatically taken new shape and that nothing is required...

i want to know because its really hot here and i am planning to go for surgery soon...so, if its not really required, i wouldn't want to wear it...

thanks,
am

Offline bobjohnson

• Posting Member
I never hear that a vest is not required... in fact as I understand it the vest helps both the results and healthy / quick healing. I am no expert but I would question the advice you've been given. I know it's uncomfortable to wear one (I am wearing one right now 2 days post op) but short term uncomfort will yield better long term results.

I hope this feedback helps and congrats on moving forward with the surgery!

Offline boobie

• Posting Member
I'm not wearing any, i'v got only bandages on my stitches, and thats all. My doc said that there is no need to put vest or anything else. When usually they r taking off stitches, in your case, coz they r taking off mine in a week from op?

DrBermant

hi,

maybe its a stupid question :-) but i thought that i will still ask!

how important is it to wear compression garment after the surgery? and for how long should you wear it? i read about it a lot on the internet but when i asked my doctor about it, he said that its not required...he said that the skin will automatically taken new shape and that nothing is required...

i want to know because its really hot here and i am planning to go for surgery soon...so, if its not really required, i wouldn't want to wear it...

thanks,
am