Author Topic: question about swelling and vests  (Read 1980 times)

Offline oldspice

• Silver Member
I notice that post op, the vest needs to be worn for a month or so? Is this primarily due to swelling? or are there other factors? Also, a week after surgery, can't you somehow ice certain parts of your chest? For minutes at a time of course, its nt like icing a sore knee or something. But anyhow, wouldnt ice somehow speed up the healing process? thanks

Offline tomo25mcr

• Posting Member
Hello well i had my operation 5 weeks ago today and im happy with the results  :) . When there i asked the doctor about a vest but he said he dosnt tell people to wear them but i could if i wanted to? well im not a doctor but im not sure if it makes a difference because i didnt have to wear 1

Offline shidu54

• Posting Member
I got my surgery done 2 weeks ago now, and I have been wearing the vest pretty much all the time (other than when taking a shower).  My doctor said it was extremely important to wear the vest (a thought that seems to be quite accepted on this forum, especially by supporting docs)to minimize the swelling that occurs post-surgery.  I would also say that personally, the vest is also helpful in keeping your chest "tight" so that when you walk around, your chest doesn't really move around, as this movement can be quite uncomfortable.  I used ice during the first week to minimize the initial swelling, but remember that icing the area doesn't heal the swelling, it just minimizes the blood flow (temporarily) to the area, which can be helpful to minimize discomfort but will not necessarily speed up the healing process.  You just have to take your medicine, wear the vest, and wait it out.

Offline Paa_Paw

• Senior Moderator
Some degree of compression over a surgical site will greatly reduce the chance of swelling and possibly even hematomas or bruising.

Cold compresses are similarly beneficial for the same purposes.