Author Topic: Establishing cause of gynecomsatia  (Read 2312 times)

Offline ethanhunt

Dear Doctor,

I have been weightlifting for a almost 10 years now since I was 26.
I have never taken steroids or any serious supplements other than whey protein and until recently creatine.
However, although I only noticed my gynecomastia two years ago looking back I’m pretty sure it started when I was training as my chest started getting bigger and my shirts and t-shirts were tighter in that particular area ever since.
It was only after a friend pointed it out that it was definitely not muscle that I realised there was a serious problem.
However, after having 2 sets of blood tests done, 5 weeks apart, the endocrinologist last week after weeks of waiting on the NHS (UK) informed me that there was nothing abnormal about my blood sample tests.
He said that a 3rd set would be performed which so I gave another sample to carry out the same tests and also to carry out additional tests (although I’m not sure what these will be).
He examined my testicles for size and shape and concluded from my answers regarding hair growth that he could not understand the cause and the most likely scenario would be to establish the cause through excluding other conditions.
I am 5’11’’ and I weigh 75kg which I have managed to maintain and last year I lost 9kgs on a diet as I wanted to rule out pseudogynecomastia and that it was possibly fat.
After losing all this weight I noticed that my chest was exactly the same size as it was prior to starting the diet.
It stands out significantly as I have a very flat stomach for a 35 year old male through weightlifting, dieting and sit-ups.
Should my endocrinologist have ordered a CT scan?
As my GP suggested this would be one of the most likely scenarios once I was referred to the hospital.
I am willing to send you a copy of my blood sample results if that would help.
Although my prolactin levels were not outside the range they were high.