Author Topic: Gynecomastia - My father had it too  (Read 3617 times)

Offline wtfgynewtf

• Posting Member
Well... my father had Gynecomastia from age 14/15, and it ended around age 17~17 and a half.
I'm 18 and a half. Also, like my father, I have Gynecomastia from age 14/15.
I have been working out at the gym for the past 8 months (4 days a week, hardcore and stuff), and was able to make my chest look a little bit more manly, but it's still much bigger than other people's chests (even people who work out at the gym for a long time), and I still have puffy nipples.
I thought about surgery, but my father insists that this is a stupid idea and my Gynecomastia is about to "go away any moment now".

Because it's, according to my father, something "genetic" that I got from him, does that mean it will "go away any moment now"? Or it may be something permanent?

Thanks. :)

P.S. I have seen some changes in the chest during the years, but it mainly changed in those 8 months of workout. As for the puffy nipples, they never changed that much. :(
« Last Edit: March 13, 2012, 06:17:07 PM by wtfgynewtf »

Offline Litlriki

• Supporting Doctors
    • Dr. Silverman's Website
Gynecomastia that develops during puberty resolves in 95% of affected individuals within 3 years of onset.  It's impossible to predict if you'll be in the 95% or in the 5% of patients for whom this doesn't resolve.  It sounds like you're on the outside of that 3 year window, but it's reasonable to give it a little more time, during which you can discuss options with your father...and start saving in the event you require surgical correction. 

Good luck,

Rick Silverman
Dr. Silverman, M.D.
Cosmetic and Reconstructive Plastic Surgery
29 Crafts Street
Suite 370
Newton, MA 02458
617-965-9500
800-785-7860
www.ricksilverman.com
www.gynecomastia-boston.com
rick@ricksilverman.com

Certified by the American Board of Plastic Surgery

Offline wtfgynewtf

• Posting Member