Author Topic: Advice please  (Read 1882 times)

Offline chairman_blog

Hey folks,

Hope you are all well, I'm a new kid on the block.

I was hoping for some advice  :)

I finally managed to save up some money for an op but am not sure which provider to go for.

1. Dr. Karidis, seems to be raved on about a lot on these forums and I have seen pictures of his work and am very impressed, he would be my first choice but it seems the earliest he could perform surgery would be october :(

2. The Harley Medical Group - They seem very professional but they wanted a £500 deposit before they would let me see a surgeon. The plus point on that is that they have several surgeons to choose from so if I didn't like one of them, I could choose another and they could perform the surgery sooner.

Has anyone had any experience with the Harley?

The reason why time is an issue is that I am a medical student and I have been through three years of humiliation in medical school. To learn how to do examinations and procedures we practrice on each other and I have routinely been asked to take my top off...and although people don't say anything out loud, I can tell that they do judge and this has affected my personal and love life immensely. I don't play rugby anymore or any other sport that involves shared changing rooms.

I went to the NHS but that was a disaster, GP was very supportive but surgeons shot me down before I could even open my mouth.

I have had to work hard while studying and saving this money for the last few years so I don't want to mess it up!

Any advice would be very much appreciated! I can put up some pictures if they would be helpful?

Chairman Blog

Offline kingboob

Personally I wouldn't touch the Harley medical group because their consultations are usually with ''Nurse Counsellors'' NOT a doctor........