Author Topic: Finally...  (Read 2224 times)

Offline george92

• Posting Member
After several years of dithering about with the NHS, I decided to go and consult Karidis. Within about 20 mins I had the operation booked for the beginning of April. Honestly it felt so surreal, because the thing which I had been striving for and dreaming of for so many years was basically sorted within less than half an hour. No complications, I just need to go have a blood test and it'll be in the bag.

I'm not worried about the surgery at all, I'm just so glad its happening after a half a decade of having this awful, confidence-destroying condition. Karidis is a great guy, he fully reassured me about everything, so now I'm raring for the operation and looking forward to my new life :)

Does anyone have any advice as to what to expect directly after the surgery, eg any pains, bruises? Also, discussing the skin left over afterwards, how long usually does it take to retract back into shape? Thanks in advance.

Offline enuff

• Bronze Member
Good for you George92!  :D

There's very little pain - I didn't have to take any of the pain killers. First week you just have to take it easy... No lifting, driving etc. From there it just gets better and better. You won't have any loose skin - by the time you take the vest off 24hrs after the op you'll just have a flat chest - with some bruising. You can expect the bruising to last for 2 weeks......

I'm 6 weeks post op now and you'd never know I'd had gyne or undergone an operation to get rid of it. I took my little girl swimming for the first time yesterday and didn't think twice. Was sweeeet! ;D

Oh, and you'd better set aside some money for a new wardrobe  ;)
Dr K got rid of my gyne Jan 2009. Thank f@ck for that!
Words & pics: http://www.gynecomastia.org/smf/index.php?topic=16639.0

Offline george92

• Posting Member
Thanks, that makes me feel 100% confident about events post op.