Author Topic: Pectoral Implants to Correct Gynecomastia?  (Read 5804 times)

Offline 9erinSATX

I am a 37yo male with gynecomastia.  It first appeared about 10 years ago.  The cause of it is still unknown.  I am a retired military veteran and I have had one correction surgery to this point (liposuction).  The results were not great.  In fact the surgeon truly felt that the breast tissue had regrown.  He now wants to perform a more aggressive type surgery (excision).  I too want this, but I am concerned about the scars that he is telling me about.  These scars will result from the excess skin that he wants to remove.  I asked him if we could not simply insert pectoral implants to fill the void that would be left by the removal of the breast tissue.
 I would like to know if anyone has done this or know of anyone that has done this for the correction of Gynecomastia.  If there are any M.D's on here, I am interested if there are any published papers on this type of correction of gynecomastia.  I am very comfortable with my surgeon, but he says has never thought of doing this.  It seems rather logical to me.

DrBermant

I am a 37yo male with gynecomastia.  It first appeared about 10 years ago.  The cause of it is still unknown.  I am a retired military veteran and I have had one correction surgery to this point (liposuction).  The results were not great.  In fact the surgeon truly felt that the breast tissue had regrown.  He now wants to perform a more aggressive type surgery (excision).  I too want this, but I am concerned about the scars that he is telling me about.  These scars will result from the excess skin that he wants to remove.  I asked him if we could not simply insert pectoral implants to fill the void that would be left by the removal of the breast tissue.