Author Topic: It's Time  (Read 4871 times)

Offline shimano

• Posting Member
I have been browsing these forums for a couple years.  At age 32 I am ready.  Deciding to have this surgery has almost been a religious experience in one way, and definitely a religious experience in another way.  If you are not a “religious” person, keep reading.  First, I’m talking about the fact that this condition is such a personal and private issue that the whole experience becomes a very emotional and reflective ordeal.  I’m not using the word religious in the traditional sense, but you guys know what I mean.  It is a condition that gets at the very core of our souls as men.  Second, I am a practicing Christian and the potential treatment has required me to examine the spiritual impact of my decision too.  I can confidently say that after prayer and careful consideration I believe that having plastic surgery to correct this condition is the right thing for me to do.  Without getting into a long explanation, I believe that God has given us the technology and resources at this time in history to deal with this condition. 

I’ve probably had this condition since I was 5 or 6 years old because I’ve got pictures to prove it.  I guess you could say I was almost born with it.  Thankfully, it never affected me growing up, not even in high school or college.  I wasn’t self-aware enough to even know that I looked different than other guys.  I was a little overweight and I always just thought it was extra fat up there.  But in my 20s and 30s it has become a major issue for me.