Author Topic: What an experience!  (Read 8409 times)

Offline AJP

• Silver Member
Well, I've just got home from Birmingham after my gyne correction with Levick. Should have been home yesterday, but of course it didn't go as smoothly as I would have hoped.......

WEDNESDAY 9.00

Set off to the Priory nice and early, just in case there was an accident on the A38. Got there an hour early. Sat in the reception area for an hour waiting for my room. A very jovial porter showed me to my room at around midday, where I sat for a further 3 hours. I think this is maybe a common thing with the 12 o'clock booking. Saw lots of nurses, along with Levick, the anaesthetist and associates. I was then ushered through to surgery. I remember having a chat to them about what I did for a living etc, before the lights went out.

SOMETIME IN THE AFTERNOON

I remember waking up gabbering some b*llocks to the recovery staff, before realising that I was actually in quite a bit of pain. The nurses filled me with painkillers, which slowly took the edge off the discomfort, but in turn added to the surrealness. Levick came through to see me in recovery, along with the anaesthetist. I wasn't really 'with it' at this point, but I could tell that he was unsure over whether it had been a complete sucess. Levick and the anaesthetist had a chat around the corner, which I could sort of make out, and I decided for myself that somehow, it wasn't quite over. I had alot of swelling and haematoma (sp.) on my left side, and it was this that seemed to be causing most of the pain. Levick told me he would see me in the morning and take things from there.

WEDNESDAY 18.00

So I was rolled back to my room on the bed, where I spent the night in quite a bit of disorientation, mostly due to the opium-based painkillers I was necking. Those things are nasty. Somehow I managed to sleep, although I didn't eat, p*ss or sh*t at all.

THURSDAY MORNING