Author Topic: A couple of post-op questions, hoping someone can help me out with.  (Read 3486 times)

Offline seeking_relief

• Posting Member
Hello to everyone on here.  I am a 6'0 lean, 145 lbs, 24 yr old with a case of puffy nipples that i have been suffering from since i was about 12.  I am planning on having surgery very soon, however there has been a few questions regarding post surgery that have really been concerning me. One of my main concerns is confidentiality, specifically, after i have the surgery and i have to return to work a few days later, i know that the doctor is supposed to give a doctors note for me to give to my employer saying im am not to do any kind of heavy lifting or pushing for a few weeks. I am a salesman at a lumberyard, which doesnt always require me lifting extremely heavy items every second of the day, but usually a few times a day ill have to help with lifting bags of concrete, plywood, lumber, etc. Is thdoctors note that the surgeon gives me for my job farely confidential? I mean does it say something like, "no heavy lifting due to male breast reduction" on it, or is it a pretty general description that doesnt say what surgery i had? Has anyone had luck with convincing the surgeon to just write "no heavy lifting due to operation", then i can just tell my employer i had surgery for something else? I would absolutely die of humiliation n want to kill myself if any coworkers or the boss found out about my surgery, considering i work with a bunch of 'manly lumberyard guys'. I just want this to be for just me, and for no one at all to find out about it, ive been hiding it for the last 12 years of my life, and i would much like to keep it to myself. Also, on the doctors slip, i think it will obvisiouly have the surgeons name on it, but does it say like "Dr. so n so, Plastic Surgeon" on it? Im going to have a hard time hiding the surgery, if my boss knows i had plastic surgery, and not just regular surgery, and itll make people suspicious