Author Topic: Maca Root, Ashwagnadha and adaptogens  (Read 4636 times)

Offline desi

• Gold Member
I have been looking for a complete meal replacement to take once a day with breakfast etc.

Most products have Maca Root, Ashwagandha as ingredients. I have read that these products can cause hormonal balances (not imbalances), but the fact that these can affect hormones makes me worried. Any thoughts? I am in two minds whether this shud be taken or not?

thanks!!!!!!
Formerly, 'Fattgayee', as in 'Torn Apart' or more so 'I am Screwed' :)

Offline Paa_Paw

• Senior Moderator
I'm not a Doctor, but since they have not weighed in on this I will try to help.

The subject of various herbs comes up with some regularity. My opinion is that you need something else to worry about.

Yes, It is true that many natural food products contain chemicals which mimic various hormones. Those of most common concern are those plant compounds called Phyto- Estrogens. These are vegetable compound that mimic the hormone Estrogen. The comparison ends there though since the normal hormones in your body are many hundreds of times stronger than the plant products.

If you tried to live on only one kind of vegetable product you would probably suffer severe malnutrition before the plant sterols became an issue.

Eat a varied diet and find something else to worry about.
Grandpa Dan

Offline Litlriki

• Supporting Doctors
    • Dr. Silverman's Website
Desi,