Author Topic: Minor heavy lifting 2-3 wks post op?  (Read 4557 times)

Offline seeking_relief

• Posting Member
I plan on having glandular excision, very little lipo, (im very lean, 6'0, 145 lbs), surgery for my puffy nipple gyne. What i was really concerned about was how my, occasional lifting and seldom manual labor job, will affect me after my surgery. I can definately take off a week, maybe 2 weeks if im lucky, but im worried about giving my employer a doctors note in fear of confidentiality of coworkers finding out about my surgery. Im a salesman at a lumberyard, im at the sales desk quite a bit, but at times, maybe 10 times a day, ill have to lift bags of concrete, plywood, lumber, etc. when helping people. If i lift items like this occasionaly, during the 2nd week post-op, is it really going to have a bad effect with the final contour of my chest? Is this kind of lifting probaly going to leave me with indentions on my pecs because of manipulating healing muscles while recovering? Will this kind of lifting during the 2nd week rip the stitches out and leave a terrible bad scar or stretch out the aereola region of my chest? Someone please help me out and maybe inform me on your lifting experiences maybe during your 2nd or 3rd week post op? What were you most capable of doing at work during this time of recovery?  :-\

Offline RyanMace

• Gold Member
I went back to work after 6 days. I had just glandular excision though. I'm now 2 weeks post-op, and barely have any pain at all. It's just sore when I touch the area.

Offline MSJ108

My doc told me I can lift after 3 weeks. I am going to go back after 3 weeks but go very light.

Offline seeking_relief

• Posting Member