Author Topic: OHIP question, please help!  (Read 5502 times)

Offline klgk

Hello everyone!

Im from Ottawa Canada and I have gyno. I know OHIP covers the hospital fees and the surgery (luckily im skinny/lean and don't need lipo). My questions:

1. When you say OHIP covers surgery and hospital fees, does that mean I have to pay for it first out of my pocket and then file for a claim through OHIP and then they will take care of the fee from there? Or does the doctor automatically bill OHIP directly?

Im asking because spending 2000$ out of my funds for any amount of time would be hard (im a student), if anyone knows a way around that please let me know.

2. My other question is do I have to I have to provide some documents from my doctor stating that I do actually have gyno, or can I just walk in and get it done?

Im asking that because I have lived outside Canada for a lot of my life and just came back, don't really have a family doctor here yet.

From what it sounds like from what ive been reading I can just walk in there have gyno sugery for free?? Can it really be that easy or is it too good to be true? And do all surgeons understand the OHIP deal and will do it for me hassle free?

Thank you guys so much for your help!!!

Offline monsterclean

• Bronze Member
Hey,

Unfortunately, not all surgeons will cover your costs through OHIP.  So if money is a major issue, the first step would be to identify a surgeon who bills OHIP for the procedure.  An example would be Dr. Fielding in Toronto.  Dr. Lista is another popular option in the GTA, but doesn't use OHIP.

Secondly, you don't need a family doctor to get a consultation with these guys.  So you're lucky in that regard.

Finally, if the surgeon does agree to do the surgery, OHIP will pay for your surgery.  You will not have to pay out of pocket first, OHIP will make the payment upfront for you.