Author Topic: Baths  (Read 4162 times)

Offline Aperture

• Silver Member
What's the deal with baths post surgery? I've been taking showers etc and that's all fine.  My doctor said my healing is going well and i can even go swimming (8 days post op), so i'm assuming baths without oils etc is fine...right?

Offline jls187

• Posting Member
As long as your cuts are closed it is ok.  I had 'holes' from the drainage tubes and incisions.  I was told not to take baths because the 'holes' were not completely closed.  Then again, I don't know how healed you are at this point.  I would wait at least 2 weeks just to be sure.  But I'm not a doctor. 

Offline Aperture

• Silver Member
Well i took it! Seems like every was fine. I made sure the water never went above my chest, just in case but it gave me a good time to check out the swelling and bruising!

Offline Dr. Elliot Jacobs

• Elliot W. Jacobs, MD, FACS
  • Senior Moderator
    • Gynecomastia Surgery
I rarely use drains, so I allow my patients to take a shower at 48 hrs after surgery -- ie once the wounds have sealed. If drains are used, then you must wait until they are removed and the small entrance incisions heal by themselves, which in most cases is 2-4 days after drain removal.  If there is any oozing or infection, then one would want to wait longer and also consult your surgeon.

If you wish to sit in a bathtub right after surgery, just use a few inches of water and do not get your chest or the dressings wet.

Dr Jacobs
Dr. Jacobs 
Certified: American Board of Plastic Surgery
Fellow: American College of Surgeons
Practice sub-specialty in Gynecomastia Surgery
4800 North Federal Highway
Boca Raton, Florida 33431
561  367 9101
Email:  dr.j@elliotjacobsmd.com

DrBermant

What's the deal with baths post surgery? I've been taking showers etc and that's all fine.  My doctor said my healing is going well and i can even go swimming (8 days post op), so i'm assuming baths without oils etc is fine...right?