Author Topic: Question about loose skin (pics included)  (Read 13436 times)

Offline thetinwoodsman

Was just wondering, based off my pics, if I will have a lot of loose skin to deal with when I go through with my surgery.  I am planning on getting it done in the next month or two.  In these pics I am around 265 lbs.  I have been heavy my entire life, especially in high school, but I started lifting weights and gained a lot of muscle mass around 2003, but maintained a weight of around 300 lbs.  The beginning of this year I started trying to cut bodyfat and went from 315 lbs to 265 lbs today.  I am 26 years old, BTW.  I have seen tremendous results everywhere, but my chest actually looks worse now because there is less fat everywhere but my chest.  I am positive this is gyno and based off pics I've looked at of other cases it's a pretty severe case.

I did a consultation with a local doctor and he said there was a chance of loose skin but didn't act too concerned.  He has some before/after photos on his website but I know he doesn't specialize in gyno specifically.  Would love to have some opinions of doctors on this site.  I know ideally I could stand to lose 30-40 more lbs (which I will) but this gyno is absolutely killing my self esteem and I can't wear anything but black shirts.  After my weight loss I actually look great in shirts except my gyno kills my shape.  Sorry for the rant, here are the pics.  My left side seems to have the bigger gland tissue than my right, BTW.

http://img269.imageshack.us/img269/1999/17536578.jpg

Thanks in advance for your feedback!

Offline Dr. Elliot Jacobs

• Elliot W. Jacobs, MD, FACS
  • Senior Moderator
    • Gynecomastia Surgery
One of the problems facing overweight men is that their gyne is an embarrassment and can make them reluctant to go to a gym as part of a weight loss program.  Part of this is physical -- and part is psychological (ie problems with body image).