Author Topic: Clonazepam or Diazepam cause Gyne?  (Read 3087 times)

Offline Keep_It_Moving

• Silver Member
Hello,

I've been researching some medications that "can" cause gyne and Diazepam caught my attention simply because I take Clonazepam .5mg 1-2x a day and it is technically in the same category of benzos as Diazepam. Can anyone shed some light on this topic or reference any articles? Thanks!

Offline Keep_It_Moving

• Silver Member
Bump

If a doctor could answer this question, it would be much appreciated.
Best!

Offline tpuk

• Silver Member
sorry i'm not a doctor but i take diazepam sometimes. prob 5mg 2 or 3 times / week.

I have also seen reports of the link. All remains uncertain - it seems anything can cause gyne - of course some ring true esp drugs that directly have an impact on hormone levels - but the valium thing seems to lack evidence? maybe im wrong.

The problem with these types of 'link' is the limited data & that we dont see the whole picture; did the subject take valium = yes, did the researchers ask about other drugs like steroids or dope or drink taken during the same periods? was the test as a whole a reliable methodolgy for gathering un-biased/double blind tested data? its just not been researched in a proper way as far as I could see from a brief surf.

I am no more concerned about it than alcohol or junk-food for example. I asked my surgeon about it - he made no connection (I wanted one pre-op & had my own) - I could take one as long as I told the anaesthetist.

If I heard of a connection that seemed well researched I would stop taking it in a heartbeat, the problem is that there is no big-pharma cash in valium these days (they are concerned with big $/£ SSRI markets) - so who would bother to pay for a big, high quality study for a drug that is of little use/ and makes little money for the companies concerned. Any problems would yield less sales anyway -  etc? cynical or what ? :)

Offline Paa_Paw

• Senior Moderator