Author Topic: Worth it to take out a loan?  (Read 3934 times)

Offline KryptoKnight

• Silver Member
  • surgery worth every penny
I've been saving money for maybe 6 months now reaching 1500 dolalrs in my bank account.  I've had many set backs with my car, killing my chances of surgery when fall comes around.  I am a college student currently working, and it pays quite well since I always have to go to school.  I want to try to make as much money as possible over the summer (take two jobs) and see how much I end up with in the fall.  Question is, is it smart to take out a loan?  Say I have 3k or 3.5k at the end of the summer; would it be worth it to take out the loan for the 1.5k remaining?  I want to get it done as early as possible so when summer hits I'll be 100% clear or almost 100% cleared up.  Any info would help, thanks.

Offline Bolognianips

• Silver Member
Do it!  Since you are in college you can get a student loan, where the rates are fairly reasonable.  When you get out of school, belive me you will find out that its pretty expensive to start out, and you may not find the opportunity.  It sounds like within a year or two you will be able to pay off the debt, so I would say go for it.

Offline KryptoKnight

• Silver Member
Thanks for the quick reply.  Sorry if it's a dumb question, but who/what would I contact for student loans?  I luckily never had to take out a loan for college tuition.

Offline Bolognianips

• Silver Member
haha, well your better off then :).  I think the average debt for an undergrad is around 20,000.00 these days.  Its a shame to say I'm "average" :)