Author Topic: healing time?  (Read 2574 times)

Offline dheights23

Im 18 and i have mild gynecomastia with puffy nipples. This is really pissing me off and i want to get the surgery. I have the money but i dont think i can stand the healing time. I have prom in like a month and i want to go to the beach very shortly after that. Would it be possible that the bruising would be gone in maybe a month and a half and that i can leave my shirt off and stay in the sun with the scars. Would i be able to lift my arms above my head and swim in that time? This is basically the last summer me and my friends will all be together and i want to have as much fun as possible. I dont want to screw it all up and not be able to do anything because i have to heal. So would it be realistic that i can get surgery and mostly heal in a month?

Offline Endless

• Silver Member
im not an expert and i dont know for sure but if that were me i would go for it..but again if that were me i wouldnt necessarily leave my shirt off..

i think 1month is about the time u take off the garment and about regain a good range of motion with your arms. not full yet, but maybe enough for light swimming.. nothing hardcore yet.. unless maybe you practice swimming beforehand to test if ur able to do it. i think the scars will still show. there might still be redness around the area and stuff.. salt water might also make the areas more red i think. if u dont mind your friends seeing your scars.

Offline Dr. Elliot Jacobs

• Elliot W. Jacobs, MD, FACS
  • Senior Moderator
    • Gynecomastia Surgery
You are asking too much of your surgeon and your body.

The best chance for success is to choose a surgeon who is experienced in gyne surgery.  Then keep your body healthy both before and after surgery -- and follow your surgeon's instructions to the letter.  But ultimately, it is your body that determines how well and how fast you will heal.  No surgeon can provide guarantees about that.