Author Topic: Medical Tests  (Read 3697 times)

Offline namsoni

• Bronze Member
Hi,

I've only been on these forums for about a month but after reading everything I am going ahead with surgery. I am a 21 year old student from the UK. I have contacted a surgeon in India, and he has asked me to have the following tests

1. CBC
2. Prothrombin Time
3. Free T4
4. TSH
5. Blood pressure

Just a couple of questions, if you can help me out guys.

First, what do they all mean?

Second, how do I get them done? Do I just go to my local GP and ask for them? Would I need to tell him why I need them? Can he refuse if he doesn't agree with my need for surgery? Or do I go elsewhere?

Third, I am a smoker, do I need to give up smoking prior to surgery? Obviously, I should give up anyway, but I have my finals exams coming up so it is not the ideal time to give up. Also, in the same vein, I am 6ft 1 and weigh approximately 205 pounds, do I need to lose weight? Once again, it is obvious I do, but I'm spending most my time in the library at the moment so it is not the perfect time for me to embark on a fitness regime.

Sorry, for all the questions. I have never had surgery before so am quite worried

Thanks in advance

Offline The_G0rn

• Gold Member
Not sure about the tests, but someone else should be able to fill you in on what those are...

Smoking:
The nicotine of the tobacco causes the blood vessels of the body to constrict.  This not only raises the blood pressure, but my also affect the circulation of the tissues handled during surgery and produce necrosis (dead tissue), delayed healing etc.

The carbon monoxide inhaled replaces some oxygen in the blood.  This means that tissues, organs and muscles in the body do not get their normal supply of oxygen.  This is undesirable under normal conditions and certainly hinders healing after surgery.

You will need to stop smoking about a month before surgery and for a month after.

Losing weight: